The national Museum Eugène Delacroix commemorates the life and work of the French artist Eugène Delacroix, leader of the French Romantic school from the 19th century.
This is an important museum in Paris because it hosts an amazing collection of a thousand pieces of art with a rare sense of the life of the artist at the same time. Indeed, the museum was the artist's own living and creating space.
Let's discover all the complete visitor information to know about the national Museum Eugène Delacroix in Paris, including exhibition highlights, history, tickets, tours and helpful information on how to get there.
What can I do at Musée national Eugène Delacroix ?
The Musée national Eugène Delacroix is dedicated to Eugène Delacroix (1798-1863), a French Romantic painter who, with his sensational works, is considered a pioneer of Impressionism.
The museum is housed in the artist's former home at Rue Furstenberg in Paris.
The permanent exhibition includes over a thousand works by Eugène Delacroix, which visitors can admire in the intimate setting of the artist's former apartment.
The collection contains numerous paintings, drawings and prints, but also letters and furniture. The painting "Madeleine dans le désert" and the canvas "Romeo and Juliet in front of the Tomb of the Capulets" are particularly worth seeing.
Also on display are works by artists who admired Delacroix and memorabilia from North Africa that Delacroix brought back from his travels.
Visitors can not only tour the painter's apartment, but also his studio, which is located in the garden. The garden itself is a haven of tranquility.
Among the museums in Paris, the Musée national Eugène Delacroix is an often underestimated insider tip.
The museum also serves as a venue for concerts, temporary exhibitions, conferences and readings.
There is a small bookstore in the museum.
Entrance, Tickets and Tours
How to get to the Musée national Eugène Delacroix
The Musée national Eugène Delacroix is located in the 6th arrondissement of Paris, in the district of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. It is a 15-minute walk from the Louvre.
If you want to use public transport, it is best to take metro line 4 to the “Saint-Germain-des-Prés” station. Alternatively, you can take bus lines 39, 63, 70, 86, 95 or 96 (to “Saint-Germain-des-Prés”) to get to the museum.
FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)
The Musée national Eugène Delacroix is located in the 6th arrondissement of Paris, in the district of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. The museum is housed in the artist's former apartment at Rue Furstenberg 6. The address is: Musée National Eugène-Delacroix, 6 Rue de Fürstenberg, 75006 Paris
The Musée national Eugène Delacroix in the district of Saint-Germain-des-Prés is a 15-minute walk from the Louvre. If you want to use public transport, it is best to take metro line 4 to the “Saint-Germain-des-Prés” station. Alternatively, you can take bus lines 39, 63, 70, 86, 95 or 96 (to “Saint-Germain-des-Prés”) to get to the museum.
The Musée national Eugène Delacroix is open Wednesday to Monday, from 9:30 to 17:30. On the first Thursday of the month there is a night opening until 21:00. For the lastest information about opening hours, please consult the museum's official website.
Admission to the Musée national Eugène Delacroix is free for all visitors on the first Sunday of the month, as well as on Bastille Day (July 14).
History of the Musée national Eugène Delacroix
The Musée national Eugène Delacroix is located in the last apartment of the great artist Eugène Delacroix. He lived and worked in this building at 6 Rue Furstenberg from 1857 until his death in 1863.
After Delacroix's death, several tenants moved into the apartment. However, when the decision was announced that the painter's studio should be demolished, numerous artists and admirers of Delacroix mobilized to prevent the demolition.
These included great artists such as Henri Matisse and Paul Signac.
To this end, they founded the Société des Amis d’Eugène, presided by Maurice Denis. They managed to avoid the demolition.
The studio and the apartment now served as a place of remembrance that informs about the life and work of Delacroix. From 1932 concerts and exhibitions were also held.
When the entire building was to be sold in 1952, the Société des Amis d’Eugène decided to sell the painter's works to the French national museums in order to purchase the studio, the garden and the apartment from Delacroix itself.
In 1954 they left it to the state. In 1971, the state converted the premises into the National Museum Musée national Eugène Delacroix.
The museum has been attached to the Louvre since 2004.